Try, try again.

IMG-20160214-WA0003This past weekend we went to a family camp, where my husband, Alan, was the speaker. It was great: I skated, hiked, did some indoor activities, and had many good conversations. And what a delight to have all my meals cooked for me!

One of the things I tried was archery. I wasn’t very good. At all. There weren’t long line-ups at the time that I was there, so I was able to keep trying. Looking at the photo, I am reminded of the saying that I heard a lot as a child, “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try, again.”

There is also the saying, “Practice makes perfect.” I don’t know if practicing certain things would insure my perfection in them, but I have no doubt that it would make me better. I enjoyed shooting those arrows, and wish I would have had more time to practice.

When I stop to think about it, there are so many, many things I would love to improve in – things that are more important than archery. Things like mothering, wife-ing, not letting other people’s moods affect me – the list can go on.

I could say with something such as archery, “I’m just not very good,” or I could practice and practice, perhaps get some advice/pointers, and practice some more. I would improve. Similarly, I could also say regarding one of my weak areas of mothering such as consistency, “I’m just not consistent; it’s just the way I am.” Or instead I could work and work at being more consistent. I believe I would improve. In fact, that is one of the areas I am working on, and I believe I am improving.

Let’s not give up on those things we want to get better at, whether it’s a skill, or a character quality, or…

For those of us who know God, we have His help. That is an advantage. In the Scriptures I see that while we are to put in our maximum effort, still it is God who empowers us.

I don’t have to be satisfied with my personal status quo. I can pursue excellence, even in my weakest areas. One day I may actually hit the bulls-eye!

 

4 thoughts on “Try, try again.

  1. Good words Robin. Presently my area is not fearing the unknown . . .such as my upcoming knee surgery. It is a good time to practice “no fear/trust” in the One who created me. Like your analogy. Working for that bulls eye this March 2!

  2. Robin, after reading your post, some things come to mind,… if we have His excel-lent Spirit within us, we can excel at anything! But without Him we can do nothing. Someone once wrote, if you read 100 books on any one particular subject, you can become an expert on that subject. (I wonder if that’s true.) But what subject would we choose? Another Scripture comes to mind, when you receive His anointing, whatever you find to do, do it with all your
    might!…something along those lines….this treasured verse is buried in the OT somewhere. Hope you hit God’s bulls-eye-will 100 times, Robin, for with God, nothing is impossible to us!

Leave a Reply

