I Am Not Ashamed!

NotAshamed01_600

This all started on a walk. Walks are so dangerous…I step out of my door and the thoughts begin. Most of my blogs were first conceived as I took a walk.

This particular day I went outside, and as I began to walk I beheld the beautiful cloudless blue sky. And what welled up in me was praise. Praise to the Creator of it all. The next thing I thought of was a radio show that I had heard that morning that had upset me. The host was interviewing three people about the fact that a politician had said that he didn’t believe in evolution. This was appalling to them and they were all agreeing that this man’s constituents had a right to know of such outrageous (they didn’t use that word, it was implied) beliefs. One of the men, a scientist, said that this politician (because he believes in evolution) “does not believe in empirical science”. That upset me. Evolution is a theory that certainly can’t be proved by “empirical science” and the fact that this man said otherwise is frankly ridiculous.

And all that talk is exactly what God’s Word says from 2000 years ago: ”For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them. For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature,have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse. For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened. Claiming to be wise, they became fools, and exchanged the glory of the immortal God …”

So instead of looking at creation and worshiping God, these people look at it and say this proves God doesn’t exist. And to add insult to injury, they claim that those of us who do look at creation and worship the Creator are fools.

By the way, besides not being able to prove the theory of evolution, most people who espouse it do not know enough science to really believe in it out of a personal conviction due to evidence.

Anyway, my train of thought continued to how those of us who believe God can be so apologetic about it, because it is not the mainstream politically correct view. I don’t mean verbally apologetic, but perhaps we don’t mention it. We would rather avoid the topic as well as other non-politically correct topics. I have definitely been guilty of this.

I am a born peace maker (which can be a good thing) and a people pleaser (which could be not so good). I have kept peace in my family of origin by not mentioning (for the most part) things we don’t agree on. I was born and bred an atheist, but when I began to search for the meaning of life, I found out that there is God. And the rest is history.

But on top of that, I am Jewish and I believe that Yeshua (Jesus) is the Jewish messiah. Even though Yeshua came from the line of King David of the tribe of Judah to the Jewish people of Israel, and even though all his first followers were Jewish, and their problem was what to do with the Gentiles who started believing in this Jewish messiah, modern mainstream Judaism does not believe in him and frowns severely on Jewish people believing in Yeshua. So yes, I carry a rather apologetic demeanor when among the Jewish community regarding this.

But I am done being apologetic. I am done being quiet and, yes, almost ashamed at times. I am not ashamed. I believe what I believe with all my heart. I will respect others for their beliefs, but I will give praise to whom praise is due. I am not about to become obnoxious (I’m just not that sort and I don’t believe in obnoxiousness), but I will not hide my faith.

And praise is due to the Creator of the universe whose “eternal power and divine nature have been clearly perceived ever since the creation of the world in the things that have been made”. (Romans 1:20)

A lot of really nice atheists like me. And the fact of the matter is, I am who I am because of God. Without my faith I would be quite a different person. So I will not be apologetic and I will not be ashamed. My heart’s cry is that God will get the glory He deserves and that people can find their rightful place in this universe, not as gods, but as amazing beings created in God’s image.

One thought on “I Am Not Ashamed!

  1. Hi, I forgot your name, didn’t see it on your blog, but wanted to thank you for your testimony. I too am a people pleaser/peace maker/that is, I strive to not make waves. But reading one of the Psalms (40), King David said, “Blessed is the man that makes the Lord his trust, and respects NOT the proud, NOR such as turn aside to lies.” God help us not to respect them nor honor them, but only as a human being made in the image of God, whom Christ died for. God bless, and thanks for your time. Rose Richardson from Texas

Leave a Reply

