Striver toward perfection or laid-back? This applies to all of us.

While there a lot of different types of people in this world, and I believe each person is unique, in the area I have been contemplating there are two types of people: Those who think they are never good enough and strive toward perfection, never feeling satisfied, and those who are what I call “comfortable in their own skin”, who, while knowing they aren’t perfect and aren’t as good as others in various areas, are fine with that.

I happen to fall into the latter category. However even the laid-back type of person that I am can sometimes become uncomfortably aware of their(my) short comings, of areas that need serious improvement, such as when one gets a well-meant (and unfortunately true) lecture on her shortcomings as a mother from one’s adult son…as I did. This particular son is one of my fans and shows me love, honor and respect, so while being brought face to face with my shortcomings in a certain area didn’t feel good, it was easier to take from him than from someone who doesn’t have that “I-am-for-you” spirit.

The specific area being discussed happened to be about my parenting of my youngest two children. Perhaps if you have a whole bunch of children, you too have become more lax (and in my case, too lax) with your youngest? If so, you understand. The following day I was contemplating what he said, and I realized that from time to time over the years I have noticed lacks in this area, had determined to do better, and yet here I was again.

I could have felt that it was hopeless. But I didn’t. Why? Well for one thing each day is a new day and God’s mercies are new every morning (Lamentations 3:22-23 ). I don’t walk this life alone. As a follower of Yeshua (Jesus), I have God’s Spirit in me, and He is able to help me in my weakness. No matter how many times we fall, we can, by the grace of God, get up and continue walking toward the mark. Not only that, if it is more than a matter of just “improving” in an area, or “doing better,” if it is a matter of sin, John 1:9 says, “If we confess our sins, He is faithful to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

There is always hope. And my hope today is that God is going to help this laid-back mom pick up her boot straps and raise those last two children with all diligence, to His glory.

2 thoughts on “Striver toward perfection or laid-back? This applies to all of us.

  1. If anyone can do this, it is you, Robin. We all tend to wind down just a bit. It is an effort to maintain consistency for the entire race. Parenthood is only one example where we need to endure to the end.

  2. Needed this reminder as I recognize some areas that I, too, have become a little too slack. Thank you for reminding me that even a woman I greatly respect and look to for wisdom (you!) struggles with the same challenges is trying to raise up her children. Gives me hope… Xo!

Leave a Reply

