Spring Is Coming!

2014-03-30 11.58.15It is March 30 and it snowed a lot last night where we here we live in Ottawa. Everything is covered in thick, deep whiteness.

Devoted skiers may be happy, but everyone else is tired of winter and has been looking forward, even longing, for spring. There are certainly lots of discouraged, unhappy people.

But wait! My experience of living in this city for twelve years says that spring never begins in March. Spring in this part of the world starts in April. Some time in April the weather gets milder and the snow melts. My experience also tells me that often after this mild weather, there is one last snowfall,  but since I know that this often happens but does not last and that spring weather returns swiftly, it does not discourage me.

To sum up: my experience tells me that here in Ottawa, spring begins in April, and so in spite of yet another end-of-March heavy snowfall, I am not discouraged and I do have hope – in fact I have faith which is “the assurance of things hoped for” (Hebrews 11:1) that spring will come, almost assuredly, some time in April.

I have experience with God. I have walked with Him going on 38 years, and I know He is trustworthy. He takes care of me, He provides for me, He gives me all that I need and more. I am not talking about simply my physical needs, but all other needs as well – emotional, mental, social, and spiritual. The Bible tells me God is my heavenly, loving, all-powerful Father, and my experience confirms this.

My experience also tells me that life works better when I live it God’s way. Doesn’t that make sense?

Many people have had some pretty bad experiences in life, but when they turn and look to God, He helps and heals and to provide the love and power to overcome. In time, after walking with God, these people also gain the experience that I have had: that God is trustworthy and takes care of us, His children.

Then when spring seems long in coming, we can have faith that it will come. When we seem to be in a life season of winter, we can have the assurance that new, fresh life will come.

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen” (Hebrews 11:1).

One thought on “Spring Is Coming!

Leave a Reply

